Past Programs

 


FIRST QUARTER 2016 PROGRAMS

 

Thursday, January 21, 2016, International Travel: Best Practices for a Safe Trip, Brent Barker, owner/president of Barker Global Security; global travel security consultant 

 

Friday, January 8, 2016, Tunisia and the Arab Springs, Dr. Laurence O. Michalak, former Vice-Chair, Center for Middle Eastern Studies, University of California, Berkeley, CA

 

FOURTH QUARTER 2015 PROGRAMS

 

Thursday, December 3, 2015, Cuba and Haiti: Near Neighbors the U. S. Must Engage, Joseph Sullivan, former Ambassador to Zimbabwe and Angola; Chief of the U.S. Mission in Havana, Cuba; Deputy Assistant Secretary for Latin America

 

 

Saturday, November 21, 2015, My Incredible Journey with Nicholas Kristof to India and Nepal,  Austin Meyer, journalist and educational design engineer

 

Friday, November 13. 2015, Uzbekistan: Public Diplomacy to Those Who Mistrust You, Carol Marks, retired U.S. State Department Foreign Service Officer 

 

Thursday, October 29, 2015, Exciting Progress and Harsh Realities in the Race to Low-Carbon Energy, Professor Severin Borenstein, E.T. Grether Professor of Business Administration and Public Policy, Director Emeritus of the University of California Energy Institute and the Energy Institute at Haas

 

Friday, October 16, 2015, U.S. Healthcare 2015:  How Do We Compare with the Rest of the World? Dr. Rick Flinders, Chief of Adult Medicine Service, Sutter Hospital, Santa Rosa

 

Thursday, September 24, 2015

SOUTH AFRICA: THE FUTURE OF AN ILLUSION? Patrick Connolly, World Bank (retired)

 

Friday, September 11, 2015, THE NORDIC COUNTRIES: WHO ARE THEY AND WHAT MAKES THEM SPECIAL? Hilde Janne Skorpen, Norwegian Consul General

 

Thursday, July 23, 2015, RUSSIA IN THE UKRAINE: Through the Prism of Putinism, Anna Vassilieva, Professor, Program Head, and Director of Graduate Learning Initiative in Russian Studies at Middlebury Institute of International Studies

 

Friday, July 10, The Legacy of Obama’s Foreign Policy, Dr. Neil Joeck, Professor, Research Scholar at the Institute of International Studies at the University of California, Berkeley

 

 

Thursday, June 18, 2015, HAVING FAITH IN DEMOCRACY: Politics, Islam, and Identity in Contemporary Indonesia, Darren Zook, Ph.D., Institute for South Asia Studies, University of California, Berkeley

 

Friday, June 12, 2015, NEW LIGHT ON WORLD WAR II AND THE ORIGINS OF THE COLD WAR, Dr. Christopher D. O’Sullivan, Professor, University of San Francisco

 

Friday, May 8, 2015, WILL THE “NUCLEAR SPRING” EVER ARRIVE? David R. Baker, San Francisco Chronicle reporter; journalist

 

Thursday, April 23, 2015, SANCTIONS AGAINST IRAN HAVE LED TO MORE HARM THAN GOOD: YES OR NO? Sonoma Academy Debate Team

 

Thursday, April 16, 2015, YOUR FATWA DOES NOT APPLY HERE, Karima Bennoune, Professor of International Law at University of California, Davis, School of Law; author

 

Friday, April 10, 2015, VIETNAM: NEW ALLY OR OLD ENEMY, Perry Ritenour, Ph.D., Adjunct College Professor and Lecturer on Foreign Affairs

 

Thursday, March 26, 2015, DEVIANT GLOBALIZATION, Nils Gilman, Associate Chancellor, University of California, Berkeley, California

 

Friday, March 13, 2015, WHAT IS GLOBAL HEALTH? Jerome H. Chin, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.

 

Thursday, February 26, 2015, SYRIA, IRAQ, AND ISIS:  Are There Any Good Options? Reese Erlich, Award-winning Journalist and Author

 

Friday, February 6, 2015 (ANNUAL DINNER),

AMERICA’S GREATEST FOREIGN POLICY CHALLENGES, Ambassador Christopher Hill, Dean of Korbel School of International Studies, University of Denver

 

Thursday, January 29, 2015, INDIA'S GENERAL ELECTION 2014: The Biggest Ever Democratic Exercise, Dr. Sharad Joshi, Assistant Professor, Monterey Institute of International Studies

 

Friday, January 9, 2015, CONTEMPORARY AMERICAN FOREIGN POLICY: Contending Perspectives, Duncan Clarke, Professor Emeritus, American University, Washington, D.C.

 


 


 


 

 

© Copyright World Affairs Council of Sonoma County